“Hate to Love”

In response to the Daily Post’s Writing Prompt  Hate to Love.

Meat27
I wanted to put a photo in here, so since I’ve never taken a photo of a Taco Bell, I put a photo of my college-age self.

I hate that I love Mexican food so much.  Yesterday, I ate lunch at Taco Bell, I didn’t even like it all that much, and told myself I wouldn’t eat there again, but I will probably end up doing so.  It’s about the only Mexican restaurant in New York City that I can afford.

How I came to love Mexican food so much is very weird, because I didn’t like it until I was around 20 years old and had the weirdest psychological experience.  I was a college student at Santa Monica College in L.A. majoring in anthropology.  It was a Sunday afternoon, I was reading a book about Mexican culture, and I was also very hungry at the same time.  Suddenly, I started craving Mexican food, which I had never done before, and I never got over the craving.

Now that I’m 73, it often gives me indigestion, but I still keep eating it.  However, I don’t eat Jalapeno’s, because my colonoscopy doctor told me I shouldn’t eat them any more.  Actually, he only said “spicy foods in moderation.” I still eat stuff that’s too spicy for me, but I just take anti-acid pills afterwards. Pills make it possible to do things that you wouldn’t do without them.

Note: California has much better Mexican restaurants than New York City, and they are far less expensive.  That is one thing I really miss about California.

 

 

Leave a Reply

