It’s Not Over Yet

In response to:

Exhale

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright. 

_______________________

Usually this situation occurred in my life as part of my working life.  I would be unemployed, but, maybe after a little worry,  I  would get another job.  However, this is just a little anecdote that came to my mind that

82ac5b3b_23535
An ATC employing rubber stamping and paper.

doesn’t really have anything to do with job finding.

I had always been a rather crafty-type, but a few years back, 10 or so, I had a job as a legal secretary in a law firm, which is not the kind of job an artistic person would be happy in, but even so, I was good at that job, and it paid well, so I kept it as long as I could stand it.  I compensated having a totally left-brained job during the day, by becoming totally right-brained when not at work.

I started to make artist’s trading cards (ATC’s), which I thought better than making nothing.  After finishing a few, I sent them into craft magazines, and especially my favorite magazine “Cloth Paper Scissors,” to try to get one published.  I’ve always considered nothing was important until it was published.  Month after month, I would submit artist trading cards I made to “Cloth Paper Scissors,” but never heard anything back from them, and they never published any of them in their magazine. I just stopped doing that.

1000Then one day I got a response from “Cloth Paper Scissors.”  I was told that they were publishing a book entitled: 1000 Artist Trading Cards and wanted to include 6 of mine.   The book is available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble.  My cards have a two-page spread.  It’s also in the New York City library.  I think it shows that if one is rejected in one venue, they may not be rejected in another. That ended my dalliance with ATCs, but I still have a whole album of them that I made stored away on a shelf somewhere.

meMy minute anecdote reminds me of an autobiographical novel by Jack London called Martin Eden, which I read when I was in my twenties.  It’s my favorite Jack London book, because I could identify so much to the main character.  [London was my favorite writer of my teenage years]

In this story, Martin Eden a former world vagabond,  wants to be a writer.  He is writing all these adventure stories, based on his world travels working on ships, while also starving to death in San Francisco, where I was living, and almost starving, when I read it. Over an extended period of time, his stories are rejected by all the magazines he submits them to.  Finally, when he is at his wit’s end and about to give up, he gets a letter from a book publisher, who wants to publish his stories as a book.  It seems he was just sending his stories to the wrong venues.

Rejection doesn’t necessarily mean that what you are doing is terrible, it could be that one just hasn’t found the right audience.

 

 

Leave a Reply

