If I Could Turn Back Time–My Lost College Years

In response to the Daily Blogging Prompt: If I could turn back time.  If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

_______________________

I wish I could go back and start college all over again.  I would do it very differently.  First of all I wouldn’t take classes that wouldn’t help me in any way to earn a living.  One can learn literature and philosophy from reading books on the subjects that one finds interesting.  I can’t remember gaining much of anything for sitting through 3 months of lectures on Aristotle.  If I were starting college now, I would major in a foreign language.  If I had known a foreign language, my entire work-life would have been different, probably more lucrative, and undoubtedly more interesting.  I had secretarial skills, so if I had combined that with knowledge of a foreign language, I could have done much better.  I met a girl once, who majored in French in college.  She was a secretary for a French bank in San Francisco and made very good money.

In college, I never thought of earning a living as the end result.  For me the end result was just to be a well-educated and more interesting person.  If you are of that frame of mine, you probably will always have trouble earning a living, unless you are really innovative or lucky.

XAAB0262 - CopyBack when I went to college in the 60’s and 70’s, it was pretty near free.  I think if it were costing me an arm and a leg as it does now, I probably would have taken it more seriously. Even though the colleges I went to were almost free, I still had to work my way through them.  Kids I knew who had parents flipping the bills, took college even less seriously than I did.

I would also study much harder.  In college if a class were too difficult, I would drop it.  That’s how immature I was back then.

What I want is to go through college with the same maturity that I now have as an old woman.  Talk about living a fantasy.

Me Still XAAB0239 - Copy

2 thoughts on “If I Could Turn Back Time–My Lost College Years

  1. It’s amazing to think of colleges in the U.S. as being near free in the 60’s and 70’s. Nowadays, getting a degree doesn’t mean as much as it used to. I’ve gotten to the point where, when I’m in a position to go back to school part time, taking classes that teach me a valuable skill will be of the utmost importance, all degrees aside. I enjoyed reading your post, it’s interesting to see how the world is always evolving.

    Like

    1. Dear Livefreeorfry, Thank you for commenting. I would go back to school, too, if it were free. I’d like to study Spanish. But, I’ll just have to do it on my own. When I went to college, in California and in New York, all I paid was $45.00/semester registration fee.

      Like

Leave a comment