Post Daily Blog: Just Another Day with the Cats

In response to Just Another Day–Our days our organized around numerous small actions we repeat over and over. What’s your favorite daily ritual?_____________________________________________

For the past 4 years, every single morning between 5:00 a.m. and 7:00 a.m., depending on when I wake up,  I venture outside, regardless of the weather, to feed the stray cats in my neighborhood.straycat

The same cats don’t show up every morning, but there are always two that do.  These 2 are living in the back of my building.  These two are pictured here.  Both have been in my backyard since kittens.

I was terribly worried about them during the blizzard we had this last week, but my worrying was unjustified.  They built a snow cave or igloo for themselves under some bushes and got along just fine.  I live in a senior home and we are only allowed one pet, and I have one cat of my own, so I compensate by feeding the strays.  My building supervisors don’t particularly like this, but they tolerate it.  I have to be very discreet, or other tenants complain.  It’s a good thing that I’m only allowed one pet, because I would probably have an apartment full of them, if it weren’t for this rule.

This morning ritual gives me something to get me out of bed for in the mornings.  I also like feeling needed.  I usually put the coffee pot on, and drink my morning coffee after I get back from feeding the cats, while checking my e-mail, then going on twitter and Pinterest, currently my 2 favorite sites.  I forgot to mention I also feed the birds and squirrels, too, right after I feed the cats.  This is my morning ritual.

blackcat

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

